What’s Up Chicken Butt

Never in a million years did I think I would clean a chicken’s butt.  Oh, the things we do.

For the last few weeks, Dolly’s bum has been looking kinda nasty but today it really looked bad.  After consulting the folks at Backyard Chickens, I reluctantly sumbitted to the fact that I was going to have to get down and dirty and up close and personal with Dolly’s bum.

It was way more traumatizing for me than for her, I can tell you that.

Before I started, her behind looked like this (super duper nasty!).

So I gathered my tools — dish soap, hot water, a bucket, rags, and of course, gloves.

After chasing her around the yard, I got her to hold still long enough for me to clean her up.  It wasn’t pretty.  And Cluck, her trusty companion, squawked to high heaven. She wanted to make sure I wasn’t hurting Dolly.

After all was said and done, I was glad to see there wasn’t any big injuries under there.  She’s all cleaned up, her feathers are still wet, and she’s feeling vulnerable.

She’s already looking back to normal – here with Cluck her protector in the background.

She’s back to feasting on little treats.    Phew! I don’t want to do that again. Yuck!

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Chicken Butt

  1. Oh man, I love every single thing about this. Like every. single. thing. I am NOT trying to sell you anything – promise – but I’ve been making “guess what? chicken butt” shirts for years so reading your post title really made me laugh. What makes a chicken’s bum gum up like that?? You’re a good chicken mama, that’s for sure!

  2. I so want chickens for my back yard too!!!! I’m afraid my dog will hurt them however so I must resist. Are they hard to raise? Seriously I want chickens so any info you have I’ll gobble up 🙂 Glad your hen is feeling and looking better.

  3. Just wanted to say thank you! … I searched the internet for ‘chicken butt problems’ and yours came up!! I have a hen who’s butt looks exactly like that…. guess I’ll have to get out the ‘supplies’ now!

Leave a comment